Another Unhealthy Actor

The Actor and I have been watching Breaking Bad lately. We’re halfway through season 4, which means we’re almost done, and we love it. Because of it we have been missing Daily Show and Colbert, but we did watch one the other day. Jon Stewart had an actor on from the upcoming, or I guess out now? film The Dallas Buyers Club. He mentioned losing about 30 pounds over the course of the film, the majority of it before shooting, and the shooting period was very short. He said he ate 300-400 calories a day to lose all that weight. My head was screaming, “NO!” I turned to the actor and said, “You are not allowed to do that. If they expect you to lose weight or gain it, they are going to give you the proper amount of time to do it or they’ll just have to find someone else. It should really be in their best interest to keep their actors alive and in the best working condition possible.” I’ve seen what can be done with makeup and photo editing. Extreme dieting in 3-4 weeks to lose 30 pounds for a role should not be the case, or even allowed, really. The Actor did agree to the terms I’d laid out for him, and he knows that if they give him any trouble about it they’ll be hearing from me.

It’s just concerning that the most important part of making a movie or a TV show, the actors, aren’t protected more. How come so little of the world’s population understand the importance of health?? That concerns me more. I have heard so many times from the Actor and theater professors and professionals that an actor’s instrument is their body, and that they have to be basically athletes to do everything that they do. So why do they take care of themselves so badly? I’m sure not all of them do, but a lot of them. Both in their daily lives and when they have a role they have to play. 

Anyway, on another note, here is the Day 6 challenge prompt.

Day 6: What is your favorite quote?

“The more you like yourself, the less you are like anyone else, which makes you unique.” – Walt Disney

One thought on “Another Unhealthy Actor

  1. I totally agree with u on this. such fast weight loss is good for no one. I know how it feels to recover and still having not got my periods back and weak bones that break even if I bruise a little.

Leave a Reply

